A Tribute: Zulfikar Muhammad Sepyan

“A Tribute” is a series of some stories about people whom I pick arbitrarily. No specific purpose is intended. The people written in the series aren’t really my most special one; yet their stories appeal enough to be made a “personal chronicle” in my blog.

His name is Zulfikar Muhamad Sepyan. He lives in Bekasi. Look how innocent he is.
His name is Zulfikar Muhamad Sepyan, nicknamed Viki. Born October 12, 1997 (the same date as when this post is published!). He lives in Bekasi. Look how innocent he is.

1st year

This guy was very noticeable, even for me who never knew him before. In PTS (my school orientation week), Viki was one of the first person whose name were easily remembered by me. Why? Because he was very distinctive; among all of the freshmen, he had the weirdest voice and (gosh I wish I had another descriptive word -_-) cutest face.

After PTS ended, we were informed about the class distribution. It turned out that I was in the same class with Viki, in X1. Ever since, we started to chat quite often in class. As a classmate we got great numbers of assignments to work on together, and that reinforce our understanding towards one another. One funny moment in class that I can recall is when we have a physics class in the laboratory. When Pa Hilman was explaining some lessons, Viki randomly insert a wire into an electronic socket. Why he did that? Don’t ask, cuz kids always do things randomly.

What happened next was thrilling. A fire sparkle came out and the whole electric circuit in the lab stopped working, nothing can be turned on. While people searched the reasons behind the shutdown, he acted as if nothing happens. And yes, his innocent face did really good to deceive everyone. LoL XD

This is just an example (an overly dramatized one). But, believe me...he's a nasty rascal you should beware.
This is just an example (an overly dramatized one). But, believe me…he’s a nasty rascal you should beware.

His unorthodox way of thinking was also made him from “nobody” to “somebody”. Once, he was assigned to give “tausiyah dzuhur”, one of the program from IMTAQ Division of OSIS. While other people might gave religious topics like “Bagaimana Cara Ikhlas” or “Menjadi Muslim Rabbani”, he gave a very ridiculous speech; he told his story of having CANTENGAN (Ingrown Toe Nail). He told how cantengan was really painful and that just sound really silly. Nevertheless, he still taught us about the moral lessons from having such pain such as patience and gratefulness. I believe no one have ever, and none will, give that kind of tausiyah -_-

the topic of today's tausiyah: cantengan
the topic of today’s tausiyah: cantengan

In the 1st year, Viki was also one of the most diligent person I knew. He always did his chores and homework on time. He wrote lessons in his notebook neatly as well. That’s way, when I didn’t understand some materials, I approached his seat in class.

Viki was a kind dillegent nerd that did good in taking note. My seat would never be far away from Viki's, especially during Bio classes.
Viki was a kind diligent nerd that did good in taking note. My seat would never be far away from Viki’s, especially during Bio classes.

Another thing was his naïveté –no doubt about that. He really lacked the sophistication and worldliness. In other word, he was such a “polos” kid. His knowledge about “that thing” doesn’t suffice for a level of high school student. So, he received special “courses” from his classmates , mainly Daru and Rasyid.

A fusion of irresistable smile with his bestfriend, Naufal | Viki was a naïve and unspoiled boy
A fusion of irresistable smile with his bestfriend, Naufal | Viki was a naïve and unspoiled boy

Frankly, I don’t have much to tell on this year. Maybe these pictures can speak more.

in English class
in English class
Charity program by Ifhtorex - X1
Charity program by Ifhtorex – X1
Study trip to Bogor
Study trip to Bogor
Doing our first EJU test
Doing our first EJU test

2nd year

As time passed, we went more moments together. Hence, I got to know him quite well in the second year.

Within a one year period, Viki started to be widely recognized and favored by his friends, especially for his creativity and adept skill in art. His style of art was very distinctive and that made his creations worth a great attention: from an astronaut wood carving in his desk until a “controversial comic” he drew in Magnet that made several people gone furious in LPJ (Laporan Pertanggungjawaban) OSIS.

art runs in his blood
art runs in his blood

That’s why he got the honor as a coordinator for several events. His first was as a Coord. of Decoration in I-Fun 1434 H. He did a splendid job; without he and his team, I-Fun would felt less spectating.

His blueprint for I-Fun - 1
His blueprint for I-Fun (1)
His blueprint for I-Fun - 2
His blueprint for I-Fun (2)
asd
Tausiyah in Masjid Ulil Albab
asdas
Opening Ceremony
Creative Talk Show dengan Wahyu Aditya
Creative Talk Show dengan Wahyu Aditya

Seeing his great job in I-Fun, I felt really convinced for his capability. So I, as the Project Officer, appointed him as the Coordinator of Decoration Section in the biggest event in IC: SONIC LINGUISTIC 2014! Being coordinator in this event might be the hardest job found in IC. Why? Because among all parts and sections, decorations is the one that make sonlis alive. Decoration section also bear the highest expectation; people really wanted sonlis to be colorful, well-ornate and exquisitely embellished. Without it, sonlis would only be a “tournament” not a “festival”.

At first, I was somehow disappointed with him. I didn’t see any significant progress in the section that he led during the the beginning months. Even 1 month before the event’s date, I could hardly say that we were lacking on preparation while time was running out. Sometimes I reminded him, but he always reply with naive and unserious answers and that really pissed me of in several occasions -_-

are you kidding me -_-
are you kidding me -_-

But I was wrong. With Latifa and his team alongside him, decoration of sonlis 2014 had become one of the most spectating masterpiece Insan Cendekia has ever seen. I saw their struggle my self; how they barely sleep in the last days before sonlis. And surely said, they deserved to be proud of their job.

how to draw sonlis mascots tutorial
how to draw sonlis mascots tutorial
pohon harapan
The Tree of Hope
fully-colored MultiPurpose Building
fully-colored MultiPurpose Building
The majestic SONLIS 3D installation; an unprecedented piece that will always be remember
The majestic SONLIS 3D installation; an unprecedented piece that will always be remember
Viki as the 2008 mascot (right edge)
Viki as the 2008 mascot (right edge)

Though we started to become good friend in the second year, he had to turn into my enemy temporarily. We were about to face ASEAN Summit Simulation. I was designated as the Chief of Cambodia’s Delegation while he was the Chief of Myanmar’s Delegation. We were give the topic of “Tackling Transnational Crime Through ASEAN Community” and I was really eager to fight him in the conference 😈

Before the conference even started, we already had a mild competition. He once spread some modules to his Myanmar team. Feel competed, I made a study guide to my Cambodia team. Every time he rallied his team, I also did the same; I didn’t want him to go ahead of me XD

And finally the D-Day came. We were having a very fruitful and constructive discussion upon tackling crimes, especially drug dealings, when Viki made a ludicrous proposal to the floor: in order to tackle drugs, he said, we should plant OPIUM! I didn’t really get what was his intention but that proposal really escalate the debate. In the end, Viki made another bloc with Indonesia (Daru) and Singapore (Gantang). Each bloc explain their proposal but a consensus failed to be reached. So, a voting was made and Viki’s bloc lose; his proposal was denied.

However, his gut to do such thing should be greatly applauded. Though it seemed foolish, the world needed people like him to present ideas out of the ordinary to create a multi-perspective solution towards a problem. Nevertheless, Viki was the star that night; and his bravery awarded him the highest score in the whole Astonic!

The other delegates stayed speechless to hear his ridiculous plan:
The other delegates stayed speechless to hear his ridiculous plan: “To fight drugs, let’s plant OPIUM instead!”.
Lobbied 2 other countries to join his rank.
Lobbied 2 other countries to join his rank.
Set aside the previous conflict, we already did a great job together!
Set aside the previous conflict, we already did a great job together!’
Viki was the star
Viki was the star

Though we didn’t feel it, the second year was about to end. The holiday was approaching and we just realized that this holiday was the longest in IC history. It was more than 2 months! My friends and I though that it would be really worthless and boring if we spent the days only in our house. So we planned to have a trip to Sarangan. I really enjoyed the trip from the first day until its end.

hands up!
hands up!
misty lake, felt like a throwback to the Jurassic Ages
misty lake, felt like a throwback to the Jurassic Ages
candid everywhere
candid everywhere
Victory Boat Sarangan
Victory Boat Sarangan
Oscar Boat Sarangan
Oscar Boat Sarangan
Berpisah di Stasiun Madiun
Berpisah di Stasiun Madiun
kapan-kapan kesini lagi yuk
kapan-kapan kesini lagi yuk

3rd year

Beyond our expectation, life in IC turned out to be so fast. Having remembered PTS moments, we were very afraid about what’s ahead in the next 3 years. We were fragile seeds that couldn’t even imagine the possibility of surviving. Will we be watered or not, will we meet benign butterflies or malicious grashopper instead, will we grow as a fruitful tree as we were meant to be? These unanswered questions left us in an oblivious state, lacking of knowledge on what will we engage onward. But now, without us realizing, we were about to end our chapter here, in this academy.

In the beginning of the year, our friendship enter a whole new level when “something” came up. What was that thing?

Our
Our “something” : SEPATU RODAAA!

Yoshh…It was a roller blade which with we got our swag 😎 Viki bought this in the new academic year holiday and he had been practicing for a couple of times. Though not that professional, Viki had understood the basic skills  while I had no single knowledge nor experience with the thing. Despite the fact that I couldn’t play this stuff in the first time, I didn’t quit trying. So did Viki, who were also struggling to control the movement of this tool. We kept encouraging one another and that was the best fuel for our engines to keep running. Gradually, we start to evolve into a more agile and lithe player.

Thereafter, we occasionally do the training in IC, both inside or outside. As a thirdgraders we were better recognized with other IC staffs, including the security officers. We needed the security permission if we want to get outside for any reason. So it was our luck as thirgraders than the security, especially when Pak Robi was in charge, gave easier chance for us to train outside.

For the first time, we finally found one thing that absolutely caught our predilection.  We passed so much fun with our same hobby that this resemblance grew a sense of sympathy and gregariousness between us that last until now. That was the beginning point where I started to consider Viki as a best friend.

Ever since, we spent activities together more often. Viki visited my house in Slipi for several times. His first was when I hosted MEGAKOM’s Buka Puasa Bareng (Buber)

Viki managed to solve the famous
Viki managed to solve the famous “Eat Bulaga” riddle. He deserved a nice gift.
such a great time we had
such a great time we had

I also enjoyed him as a company during Stukol (Collaborative Study) to Jogja. We were bus-mates and both of us were witness of Bus 3’s ecstatic-madness. We also went together with Fizi, Sonny, Marie and Aldo outside of our hotel -Brongto Hotel- to the streets on foot. It was midnight so we barely found any sign of humanity if not human-like supernatural entity. After a long walk, we finally fined a food stall that sold nasi goreng which we ravenously enjoyed.

The tour to Baron Beach was definitely the most memorable one. We were permitted to enter BPPT’s wind turbin installation on top of a hill near the beach. While the instructor was explaining, we sneaked out and revealed this spectating side of Baron.

I have ever visited Baron Beach before Stukol but I never encountered such beauty before. Not all people get access to this side of Baron.
I have ever visited Baron Beach before Stukol but I never encountered such beauty before. Not all people get access to this side of Baron.

Being dispatched from our job as OSIS or event committees like Sonlis or iCare didn’t stop us to feel the excitement of organizing events. We, third graders, were honorably requested by Mr. Yus (our civics teacher) to become organizers of ASEAN Summit –the event in which we were once the participants in the previous year.

4 months before the event took place, we had already started our preparation. Despite our busy academic life as third grader, we could still allocate time to secure this event’s success. I entrusted Viki as one of the mentor and he did a spectacular job, as did the other mentor. Ours were a long run but in the end we could made, hiperbolically said, the best ASEAN Summit ever.

The Former Myanmar Chief Delegate served as the country's mentor in 2015.
The Former Myanmar Chief Delegate served as the country’s mentor in 2015.
Nan-Hai team will always have a place in my sweet memories.
Nan-Hai team will always have a place in my sweet memories.

Prior to graduation, I had this funny experience with Viki. One chance, I was invited by OIC Season 2 RTV to attend the Grand Finale of OIC Season 2. I was asked to give some motivations and stories of my experience as the 1st Winner in OIC Season 1. Fulfilling the request, I decided to go for the Grand Finale. I was calling my friends to be my company in going along with me and Pak Away to the studio. Nobody answered my call but Viki.

We were nicely dresses with our generaton outfit –Astonic’s blazer. Upon arrival, I was greeted by RTV staffs. They also knew Pak Away before but they found Viki really unfamiliar. So they asked him like, “And you are..?”. He replied, “Gilang’s little brother”. And they were like, “Oh I see…well we should start cuz the show gonna start”.

WHAT??! Did they believe what Viki just said. I mean people doesn’t need to be smart to tell that we aren’t sibblings -_- come on, lahh…we didn’t even look the same -___-

A compulsive liar standing on the left edge.
A compulsive liar standing on the left edge.

We did so many things together before graduation that I can’t recall them one by one. Maybe the voice of these pictures sounds in a more tangible way:

Bintari XChange Ice Rink | Our rollerblading practices really nurtured us to master this icy realm
Bintaro XChange Ice Rink | Our rollerblading practices really nurtured us to master this icy realm
Studio RTV Cawang | Dat pecicilan intruder ony my left
Studio RTV Cawang | Dat pecicilan intruder ony my left
Mt. Papandayan | Not bad for a first time hiking experience
Mt. Papandayan | Not bad for a first time hiking experience
Dormitory | An unexpected surprise from Viki I found on my desk
Dormitory | An unexpected surprise from Viki I found on my desk
asdas
Darul Quran Mulia, Bogor | Post-graduation, most of us didn’t have any meaningful activity to do. So I decided to join A Tahfiz Camp organized by this boarding school for 2 weeks. I promoted this event to my friends but only Marie responded. Just several days before we had to enter the program, Viki gave a great surprise by saying that he had actually been registered as a participant. So Viki, Marie, Hanjo and I joined this camp with other 100 participants. Guess what? 80% of the event’s participants were kids, we were like stranded back to our kindergarten. Kids shouting and crying covered most of we saw. Like it or not, we -as adults- were expected to take care of them. If I can still live with a childish-naive-naughty rascal called Viki, I should survive with these kids around. Overall, it was a great experience.
asdasd
Darul Quran Mulia, Bogor | The 100 participants were divided into around 10 groups. In the end of the program, each group had to delegate some of its member to participate in MHQ (Musabaqah Hifzhil Quran) or Quran Competition. Viki was lucky to be designated. He deliver a sound performance and everybody seemed to enjoy it. Too bad he didn’t get the trophy but he deserve great appreciation for his courage to show what he got. (btw videonya masih ada di gua loh Vik :p)
Solo | Badass being badass
Solo | Badass being badass
Hawaii | Seems so legit -_-
Mt. Mauna Loa| Seems so legit -_-
Outer Space | can't really hadle the absence of gravity.
Outer Space | can’t really hadle the absence of gravity.
Solo | Mampir di rumah Kukun habis jalan-jalan di Jogja. Kita nyampe di Kartasura malem-malem terus sempet nyasar. Mana nyasarnya ke kuburan lagi.
Solo | Mampir di rumah Kukun habis jalan-jalan di Jogja. Kita nyampe di Kartasura malem-malem terus sempet nyasar. Mana nyasarnya ke kuburan lagi.
Taman Anggrek Ice Rink | Indulging ourselves into the ecstacy of iceskating for the second time. This hobby started to turn into addiction.
Taman Anggrek Ice Rink | Indulging ourselves into the ecstasy of ice skating for the second time. This hobby started to turn into addiction.
Slipi | All of my bestfriend rallied to my realm. Hope we can have a reunion really soon
Slipi | All of my best friend rallied to my realm. Hope we can have a reunion really soon
Hotel Sangkuriang | Viki and I has several same outfits. One of them is this panties which act as the relic of our
Hotel Sangkuriang | Viki and I has several same outfits. One of them is this panties which act as the relic of our “pantiehood”
asdsad
Lawangwangi Creative Space, Lembang | Before coming to Japan, I made a plan to make a farewell party for my comrades. After conducting short survey in the internet, I found this Lawangwangi place really appealing. So I asked Sonny, Gantang and Viki to go to the place together to conduct the real survey.

Unique Side

As I have written before, the most distinctive aspect of Viki is his voice, no doubt about that. When there were broadcasted announcement back then in IC, people would instantly recognize if Viki were the one who broadcast it. He was also a random man, he didn’t speak in a good structured way that sometimes people couldn’t catch up with his wild thoughts. This maybe imply to the hardship he felt in making his college essays. But his unconventional ideas, if conveyed in an appropriate way, could surely make his writings outshine other else’s.

Everytime he speaks in front of us, like as an MC, he never fail to make us grin for his funny voice.
Jogja | Everytime he speaks in front of us, like as an MC, he never fail to make us grin for his funny voice.

He liked to take pictures, and capture videos. Unlike those who belonged to photography classes, Viki didn’t pursue the aesthetic aspect of the picture. He, instead, seeks to capture rare, unthinkable and –sometimes– embarrassing moments for his personal satisfactions. Some of the pictures and video were really ridiculuos, frivolous and as-banal-as-pictures-that-would-not-get-a-hundred-likes-in-instagram kind of stuffs. But, his captures are those that I enjoy most. Why? Because those pictures really portray what happen in our life in IC. Viki shoot in a way that doesn’t revoke the sincerity of showing oneself as it really is.

I also think that Viki should be really grateful for having such magic hands. By “magic hands”, I’m not referring to his adroit art-making skill. Rather, I’m describing his unparalled ability to give one of the most rejuvinating massage anyone could experience. So , IMTAQ Division of OSIS has a program called qumu-qumu (literally means “wake up, wake up!”) that instruct students to give a massage to his friend next to him after Subuh Prayer so they aren’t sleepy anymore. Everyone knows Viki does well in term of massage, so some people diliberately do sholat next to him to be indulged with his magic hands.

Masjid Ulil Albab |pijat sakti penghilang kantuk
Masjid Ulil Albab |pijat sakti penghilang kantuk

As for his religious life, I won’t exaggerate that he’s a very pious person. But I’m really sure that he has a big concern to reach such status. In the third year, when everybody was busy with its UN preparation, Viki and some of my friends raced to finish writing an originally hand-written Quran. Though he couldn’t finish the whole book, he deserve a big applaud. He also has great concern in reciting and memorizing Quran. My experience in DQM with him and the fact that he is now living in a Tahfiz dormitory made me really convinced about this.

His perseverance is indisputable. I witnessed my self how he was struggling so hard to get a good score in IELTS, as I was his sensei that time. He printed this kind of vocabulary-list and asked me to test his memory within a particular schedule. I also salute his effort to train his writing skill, especially when we made the college essay for Kyoto University first admission process. He went to many teachers, seniors and peers to give feedback for his essay. While some appreciate his draft, a lot of his essay’s reader pose a pejorative tone in their comments.

“Ini ribet banget sih bahasanya”

“Kok college essay kaya begini?”

“Ini mah bukan essay!”

Yet, he didn’t choose to give up and his effort didn’t disappoint him; his essay passed the first screening and he will be interviewed Monday next week!

Last, the most intriguing personality that make him so distinctive is, in my opinion, his curiosity. Viki is an impulsive explorer, and his desire to know everything goes beyond all odds –his account twitter is even called @curiousviki. For instance, after he received the “special courses” delivered by Sonny and Daru, he can’t repel his curiosity to “explore” and understand these courses more profoundly through internet during school holiday. This, somewhat probably, is the milestone of his life. (you get what I’m saying..right, Vik? XD).

Another instance, when we did stukol in Jogja, he wanted to go beyond the schedule and find something new. While most of our friends were playing in the Baron Beach, Viki, Reyhan, Naufal and I climbed a nearby hill instead. The trip to Mt. Papandayan, too, can exemplify his hunger for experience. While others are taking photos with the beatiful edelweiss in Tegal Alun, Viki invited me to join his adventure. We went to edge of Tegal Alun field and discovered a random stone cliff then took some photo there. It turned out that we weren’t alone, there was a couple who shared the same curiousity as ours. They asked us to help them taking their photos, while offer taking our picture in return. With his untamed curiousity, he also joined many clubs which may seem odd for us to join; he registered himself as the member of ITB’s Papua Art Culture Club (in which there are only 10 members). I can’t really judge his intention, but I firmly believe that the club is very lucky to have an incredible member such as Viki on their side.


EPILOGUE

Though hard to say, that’s all that I got, I can’t force myself to write more. I’ve been writing this post even before I went to Japan, but I saved it so that I can publish this “tribute” right on your birthday, Vik. Having a birthday should be filled with felicitation and joy, but one must undestand that approaching the state of adulthood, should make one more conscience and responsible. As you aged, find more wisdom and transform your uniqueness I’ve mentioned above into an inner strengh that couldn’t be paralled by any one.  The entiren world are eager to see what your “magic hands” can do to enchant them.

I’m not flattering to say that I’m inspired by your curiousity, by your burning desire to see the world more than it seems to be. From you, I learned that we are, by our own, detectives of our own lifes…destined to discover the “clues” to reach our success. And for that cause, I’m cherised that we will embark on a journey to trace our clues together in the Jewel of the Rising Sun, the Parlor of the Eastern Realm; let Kyoto witness the beginning of our story, really, really soon. Caphice, Vik? 😉

Your faithful comrade,

October 12, 2015

Kyoto

One thought on “A Tribute: Zulfikar Muhammad Sepyan

Leave a Reply

